Book Review · Books

Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor


Title: Definitions of Indefinable Things
Author: Whitney Taylor
Genre: Young Adult, Mental Illness, Contemporary
Published April 4, 2017, by HMH Book for Young Readers
Rating: 3.5/5



This heartbreaking, humorous novel is about three teens whose lives intersect in ways they never expected. 

Reggie Mason is all too familiar with “the Three Stages of Depression.” She believes she’s unlocked the secret to keeping herself safe: Nobody can hurt you if you never let them in. 

Reggie encounters an unexpected challenge to her misanthropy: a Twizzler-chomping, indie film-making narcissist named Snake. Snake’s presence, while reassuring, is not exactly stable—especially since his ex-girlfriend is seven months pregnant. As Reggie falls for Snake, she must decide whether it’s time to rewrite the rules that have defined her. 

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset

I want to thank HMH Teen for sending an ARC of this book, this will not affect nor influence my review!

When I heard about this book’s release I was so excited to get a copy of it. If you don’t know this about me I love reading books with mental illness representation. I have read quite a lot of books that tackle mental illnesses, some of them made me feel connected with the characters. I understood their perspectives as persons who suffer these illnesses. I got the chance to be in their heads for every 300 pages of a book. It’s hard to find books with accurate representation!

Reggie is our main character here who suffers from depression. She has known the “Three Stages” of it by heart and she would give her two cents for each stage. She’s sarcastic and her snarkiness helps her to not get easily attached to people.

The characters were so flawed! They(Reggie & Snake) both acknowledged that they have depression. They would talk about it like it’s a normal thing for them. Snake also suffers from depression and soon going to be a father with his ex-girlfriend’s baby. I never thought I would enjoy reading how their paths crossed and how they managed their “friendship” all throughout the story.

There was some point in this book that I felt lost. I don’t know why, maybe it’s because of the third stage of it; disconnection, that the MC is currently feeling. I felt disconnected with the character/s in some parts of the story which made me iffy about continuing on with the story. I was about to give up reading this book but thank God I didn’t. I also want to point out that this is another novel who didn’t magically cure “depression” both characters still acknowledged their conditions.

Depression was the main focus of this novel, the author took a different way of expressing it through her characters and storyline. This book offered more than understanding depression. I was expecting the same results from a book that tackles depression but this book offered a whole new perspective and writing style.

Definitions of Indefinable Things is heartbreaking, funny, offers depth towards the understanding of depression and so emotional. There were parts of it I didn’t like but for me, this was worth the read, it’s either a hit or miss for some!

One thought on “Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

Leave a Reply

