Book Review · Books

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

30199656.jpg

Title: What To Say Next

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mental Health
Published July 11th 2017 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 4.5/5

img_7392

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

img_7393

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

First of all I want to thank Fay @ The Bibliophile Soprano for hosting this blog tour, WTSNPHBlogtour! Also for Penguin Random House International for sending this book my way this will not affect nor influence my review.

Julie Buxbaum is one of my auto-buy authors because her books are such precious gems to me. All of them are so cute and have their own special “feel” about them.

What To Say Next is not your ordinary YA Contemporary read, when I looked at the cover I immediately feel in love with it. Made me think of summer but to my surprise the story has a deeper and more complicated topic. It tackles deeper issues; grief, longing and losing someone you love and mental illness representation.

All of the characters where a complicated bunch. David was a bit weird, sweet boy, a genius and keeps note of everyone in his high school I think it was his MI that made him do those notes, he always knows what, where and when things happened and he has descriptions of everyone in his school. He has autism( Asperger’s syndrome).

“When you meet someone who has Asperger’s syndrome, you might notice two things right off. He’s just as smart as other folks, but he has more trouble with social skills. He also tends to have an obsessive focus on one topic or perform the same behaviors again and again.” — WebMD

Kit was dealing with grief because his dad died in a car accident, things would slowly unravel about the incident and it will literally touch your heart and make you cry. Kit’s friends are awesome; Annie & Violet are wonderful set of friends. They were always there to support her and they never left her no matter what happened. I love every character in this story! Even the parents. If you read this, you’ll absolutely agree with me especially David’s parents!

To be honest I don’t want to compare it with Tell Me Three Things but I’m gonna do it anyways hahaha! I think TMTT was a tad better and way fluffier. Though I still liked What To Say Next, the story was adorable and it felt real to me.

I highly recommend this book if you loved Tell Me Three Things you’ll definitely enjoy reading this one too. We need more books by Julie Buxbaum, who’s with me?

One thought on “What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

  1. I’m really looking forward to reading this one because the blurb sounds interesting and unique and I’ve heard a lot of great things about it. I’m glad to see you enjoyed it too. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

