Book Review · Books

One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

32571395 (1).jpg

Title: One Of Us Is Lying

Author: Karen Mcmanus

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Published May 30th 2017 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 5/5

img_7392

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

img_7393

 

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

Huge thanks to Penguin Random House International for sending this book my way! This will not affect nor influence my review.

One Of Us Is Lying just made it to the New York Times best sellers list and I have to say that it totally deserves it! This book deserves EVERYTHING! I knew it, that this book has the potential to be a best seller!

I saw the synopsis of this book at a Twitter chat and I had to immediately follow the author and add her book on my Goodreads page. The plot sounded so interesting and right there I knew that I needed a copy of it as soon as possible. Talk about The Breakfast Club feels to it, of course except the fact that one of them didn’t got the chance to go home alive.

From start to finish I just couldn’t stop from reading, it’s like I needed to know who or what was truly happening. That’s why I only read it in one sitting. I thank myself for doing that because I loved it, those twist and turn of events I didn’t expect happened! It was one of a kind!

I just loved how the story flowed kept me at the edge of my seat as I turn the pages up until the last page. Never bored me, kept my mind going. What I love about this is that all of the characters were flawed, this to me made it more realistic. Everything was fucked up! Also the characters had their own story to tell and it goes and binds the whole story as one in the end. I liked that it was multiple POVs but sometimes I ended up confused on who’s who, there were times that it sounded like they all have same voices.

I was literally confused on who the real “murderer” was but at the end that big reveal! Blew my mind. Though it tackles a deeper issue about this “thing” which I cannot mention because I think it plays a huge role in this story. It is relevant now and widely talked about but never really understood well on why certain people commit such crime. I didn’t knew this was going to happen but I know there were signs of it at the very beginning if you will look closely.

All in all, I absolutely enjoyed everything and didn’t regret picking it up. I highly recommend this book to everyone(period)

img_7396

2 thoughts on “One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

Leave a Reply

