Book Review · Books

Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno

28926581.jpg

Title: Everything All At Once

Author: Katrina Leno

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mental Illness
Published June 6th 2017 by HarperCollins Children’s Books
Rating: 5/5

 

img_7392

Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her beloved Aunt Helen dies, Lottie begins to fear that her own unexpected death might be waiting around every corner.

Aunt Helen wasn’t a typical aunt. She was the author of the best–selling Alvin Hatter series, about siblings who discover the elixir of immortality. Her writing inspired a generation of readers. 

In her will, she leaves one last writing project—just for Lottie. It’s a series of letters, each containing mysterious instructions designed to push Lottie out of her comfort zone. Soon, Lottie’s trying some writing of her own, leaping off cliffs, and even falling for a boy she’s only just met. Then the letters reveal an extraordinary secret about the inspiration for the Alvin Hatter series. Lottie finds herself faced with an impossible choice, one that will force her to confront her greatest fear once and for all.

img_7393

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

I want to send a huge thanks to Harper Collins International for sending an ARC my way, this does not affect my review in any way.

After reading Everything All At Once, I just couldn’t find a way to express my emotions! I didn’t expect anything like that at all, I have read a few YA + with a touch of Magical Realism books but this one is plain perfection, more like an effortless yet beautifully written book. It started out very mellow then as the story continues the plot was building and I just couldn’t stop reading it. It handles topics like grief and anxiety.

Like I said it reminded me of PS I Love You by Cecelia Ahern, Lottie received a bunch of letters from her deceased aunt, who was an author by the way, these letters were her way of going outside the box, trying new things and feeling a different kind of experience she thought she’d never feel. I liked this part of the story. Her aunt obviously adored her & her family, she was worried that Lottie wouldn’t take the situation lightly so she decided to make these letters in other for her to overcome some of her fears and help her with her anxiety.

The MC suffers from anxiety, you can actually see how she’s going through this whole phase, she worries about what’s going to happen in the future and thinks about death all the time. One of the reason I loved this book is because the author didn’t magically cure her characters, she made them more authentic and real. Her brother Abe was one of my favorite characters, he’s a bookworm & I love how he’s there for her whenever she’s feeling a little down. Her friends though! I love them as well. Can we get friends like Em & Amy in real life please?!

There’s a hint of romance in here but it faded away in my opinion when the big reveal happened. I love how this story is within a story, there were excerpts of her aunt’s novel that was part of this book that I enjoyed as well. It’s one of those rare books that captures my heart and leaves me changed forever. It’s new to my reading experience and it’s something I know I would recommend for everyone to read!

img_7396

6 thoughts on “Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno

  1. Have you read 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson? It shares the same idea – deceased aunt leaves letters to urge her niece to go to adventures. I honestly haven’t finished reading it yet, but based on what I’ve read of your review, this book deals with more than just adventures. Recently there’s a lot of books that deals with anxiety and how we should not undermine it, and I think it’s an awesome eye-opener. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I have read it! But didn’t enjoy it much more than this book 😂 yes it has magical realism in it which may or may not play a huge part in this book. I like reading books about anxiety in which the author doesn’t magically cure her characters because that’s real life, you can’t instantly cure anxiety.

      Like

  2. Great review. Everything All at Once is on my TBR so I’m glad to see you enjoyed it. And I like how you said the author didn’t magically cure her characters because that’s the way it should be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hadn’t heard of this one, but it sounds great! I love books where characters get a bunch of letters, stories within stories and characters with anxiety (as I myself suffer from it as well) so I must check this one out. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

