Book Review · Books

House Of Furies by Madeleine Roux

29736099

Title: House Of Furies

Author: Madeleine Roux

Genre: YA, Horror, Mystery

Published May 30th 2017 by HarperTeen

Rating: 4/5


An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times bestselling author of Asylum.

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at a boarding house. But soon after her arrival at Coldthistle House, Louisa begins to realize that the house’s mysterious owner, Mr. Morningside, is providing much more than lodging for his guests. Far from a place of rest, the house is a place of judgment, and Mr. Morningside and his unusual staff are meant to execute their own justice on those who are past being saved.

Louisa begins to fear for a young man named Lee who is not like the other guests. He is charismatic and kind, and Louisa knows that it may be up to her to save him from an untimely judgment. But in this house of distortions and lies, how can Louisa be sure whom to trust?

Featuring stunning interior illustrations from artist Iris Compiet, plus photo-collages that bring Coldthistle House to chilling life, House of Furies invites readers to a world where the line between monsters and men is ghostly thin. 

 


I want to thank Harper Collins International for sending an ARC my way, this will not influence nor affect my review.

When we talk about YA horror mystery novels my go-to author is definitely Madeleine Roux. When I heard about Madeleine’s new series I was so stoked about it and immediately went straight to Goodreads and hit that WANT TO READ button! 

The Asylum series was one of my favorite horror mystery novels. And to be honest House Of Furies didn’t disappoint me at all, though there were some parts that didn’t do it for me but I was blinded by how amazing the author’s writing style is. I was instantly hooked the moment I read the first chapter. 

House of Furies is the start of a new dark gothic series that will scare you at night. It’s not my first time seeing creepy photos inside of books but this time it was illustrations which I appreciated very much. I don’t know if there were any changes because I read it in ARC edition, I’ll definitely get myself a finished copy soon and see if there were changes in the illustrations inside! I was happy because Roux included Irish mythological stories, I don’t know quite a lot about the Irish culture and history but this book gave light to some parts that I am now ready to explore as I continue on with this series.

I liked how odd and peculiar the characters were. Fair warning: I kinda dig Mr. Henry Morningside, I CALL DIBS!!!! What I didn’t like about this book is that it was a bit slow in pace. Don’t worry it gets better! To be honest I would rate the scare factor to 6/10, it went kind of flat with me. Even that said, I like how the whole atmosphere of the story, it was so vivid and felt so real. Everything came to life as the story progresses.

The ending is what I was looking for to wrap up the first book, left me with a lot of answered questions and made me more curious on what’s going to happen next! I’m excited for the second installment!!!! Highly recommend this book if you’re looking for something fresh and new to read especially if you’re into gothic themed horror books. 

Leave a Reply

