Book Review · Books

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

31145148.jpg

Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Genre: YA, Contemporary, LGBTQ
Published May 16th 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
Rating: 4/5

1492432121684-2img_1656

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

img_5809

img_1657
First of all I want to thank JM @ Bookfreak Revelations for for hosting this blog tour! I’m so happy that I got the chance to read this book. And also to Macmillan International for proving an egalley of The Love Interest.

Hooray for queer books, hooray for two “spies” making a girl fall in love with them but ended up falling in love with each other! And thank you Cale for writing such a promising novel that had me at the edge of my seat while I was reading it.

I have never read that much books that has spy characters in it because I’m afraid I wouldn’t be enjoying it but to my surprise I ended up loving this one. The premise of the story is what made me want to read it as soon as I saw this book on Goodreads. It’s a mix of YA, LGBTQ and Sci-fi(ish) story that was new to me. Okay, let me tell you! The first chapter of this book really had me. The first time Caden & Dylan met? My ship already sailed. 

Let’s talk about the characters. this book is told in Caden’s perspective which was divided into three parts; The Love Interest, The Antagonist and The Protagonist. I liked how the story revolves around the art of deception and seduction. Caden & Dylan were great in being actors and I was really looking forward every time they have their little moments together. The romance between Caden & Dylan, everything! Honestly it was one of the reason why I kept reading this book. I love how their characters slowly realized how they felt for each other; those glances, smiles, everything! I also admired Juliet’s character, she was different from a typical girl found in any YA book. She stood up for herself, she knew what she was doing and didn’t even had in mind to take the negativity swallow her. she just brushed it off like any female character should do. Doing a lot for the female leads out their!

The things that I didn’t like about this book is that I didn’t had any connection with the characters I also felt that everything happened so fast in the end, the revelations and everything about the LIC was just thrown at the end and I didn’t somehow understand what was happening. I felt cheated at the ending I WANT MORE!!!! We need a sequel!!! I will absolutely reread this.

Nevertheless, The Love Interest was a deliciously satisfying guilty pleasure read. Perfect for the summer/ the summer heat. 😉 

1492432345424

Leave a Reply

