Book Review · Books

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

32048554.jpg

Title: Windfall

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Genre: YA, Contemporary

 

Published May 2nd 2017 by Delacorte Press

 

Rating: 4/5

1492432121684

img_1656

Let luck find you.

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined…and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.

img_5809

img_1657

I want to thank Penguin Random House International for sending an ARC copy of this book! I also want to thank JM @ The Bookfreak Revelations for hosting the #WindfallPH blog tour. 🙂

It’s the summer season right now and I was craving for something light, easy to read YA contemporary novel and here it was. 

Before he could say anything. I threw my arms around him, hugging him tight, and as I did felt something crackle to life inside me, like my heart was a radio that had been full of static for years, and now, all at once, it had gone suddenly clear.

Just finished this book in one sitting & I can’t stop giggling! I couldn’t find anything concrete to describe how much I enjoyed reading this. It’s something fresh & naturally cute in it’s own way. The story was indeed unique, I have never read any book involving lottery in it. A one in a million chance of winning they say.

What will you do when you win millions of dollars? I would probably travel the whole world and buy all the books I can read! But to our character’s choice, those weren’t one of them. The characters are all lovable especially the MC. Alice has indeed suffered from a couple of misfortunes in her life that turned her world upside down but she was able to change this with a sudden windfall. I love how certain problems were brought in to this book, it made it more realistic & relevant (thought you winning a lottery has a probability of only 1 in 14million). Strong family dynamics, the best friend trope which never gets old but I still love up to this day & a hint of diversity! 

Alice’s character now has a very special place in my heart and so as Teddy though I have to mention I was quite pissed about him on how he acted & talked to everyone. Ugh!!! Like not cool! I also liked Leo’s character, I think in every group of friends there’s always that one quirky & fun Leo! Oh by the way; LEO & MAX’S SIDE STORY PLEASE!!!

All in all this book should be included in your summer/spring contemporary list! Another great novel by Jennifer that I absolutely loved! Windfall has lived up to my dose of light & memorable contemporary novel taste. 

I thought I knew all his smiles, thought I had them memorized and categorized. But this one is different. The way he’s looking at me right now, it’s like he’s about to turn into someone else. It’s like his ship is about to come in.

It’s like he’s the luckiest person in the world.

It’s like we both are.

1492432345424

Leave a Reply

