Book Review · Books

Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

25081261.jpg

Title: Poison’s  Kiss #1
Author: Breeana Shields

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Published January 10th 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers

Rating: 5/5

1492432121684-2

img_1656

Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die afterward. It’s a miserable life, but being a visha kanya, a poison maiden, is what she was created to do. Marinda serves the Raja by dispatching his enemies with only her lips as a weapon.

Until now, the men she was ordered to kiss have been strangers, enemies of the kingdom. Then she receives orders to kiss Deven, a boy she knows too well to be convinced he needs to die. She begins to question who she s really working for. And that is a thread that, once pulled, will unravel more than she can afford to lose.

This rich, surprising, and accessible debut is based in Indian folklore and delivers a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

img_5809

I want to thank Penguin Random House International for sending this ARC!

img_1657

After reading a 5 star book I immediately picked up Poison’s Kiss without reading the synopsis. I had no expectation whatsoever about this one, me being quite picky when it comes to my fantasy reads! But to my surprise I didn’t regret picking this one up, it was AMAZING!!!! 

Beautifully crafted story based on an Indian folklore- visha kanya- poison maiden! It’s a great addition to my favorite fantasy series. I literally live for anything folklore may it be Russian, Victorian etc. It makes me more curious on how the author will work his/her magic in writing the whole story and add his/her own spin to it. And there it was, Poison’s Kiss! I loved Marinda’s character, she’s an assassin for the Raja and her secret weapon is her kiss that was poisonous that could kill anyone she kisses without escaping the venom. Her undying love for her brother Mani was everything. You could see how vulnerable she was when something happens to him. And let’s talk about Deven, he is now my NEWEST book boyfriend, can we just appreciate how direct and how he wasn’t afraid to show his feelings. 

Right from the very first page, I was drown to the author’s writing style. I can picture everything in my head when I was reading this, it’s quite addicting! I couldn’t put this book down I just wanted to know what’s going to happen next!

I highly recommend this if you’re looking for a fun-filled fantasy read! I’ll definitely keep an eye out for the second installment! You should too 😉

1492432121684-2

1492432345424

Leave a Reply

