Book Review · Books

Grit by Gillian French

31706530.jpg

Title: Grit

Author: Gillian French

Genre: YA, Contemporary


Expected publication: May 16th 2017 by HarperTeen

Rating: 2/5

img_9310img_1657

I want to thank HarperCollins International for sending an egalley of this book!

I was buddy reading this with my friend Jayvee but unfortunately us being a bit critical about “observing” how the book was things turned out to be the least we expected it to be. I was so excited to receive a copy of this book because when I saw the synopsis of it at Goodreads I found it very interesting and promising also the positive reviews made me want to read it more. So that’s why we gave this book I try.

Grit was a disappointment for me. The plot was all over the place, there were too many things happening that I, the reader can’t focus on one thing then there will be another element of the story suddenly appears out of nowhere and to make it worse some of those weren’t even introduced properly. The progress of the book was VERY SLOW I was in the middle of the book and still nothing exciting was happening. I thought it was about this missing girl, the harvesting contest, the pageant then there’s issues about the characters that weren’t clearly explained and the romance OH MY GOD. I didn’t feel any kilig or something. I feel that the romance in this book isn’t really necessary and also some of the characters. 

There was also a hint of racism found in this book. You are warned!

Side note, the book ended on the different side of it, it’s like the first part of the story didn’t happen at all. I was like, “Where did this came from?” The author kept throwing unnecessary plots. Wish the author could’ve focused on a main plot so that there will be a main storyline to follow and things could’ve pick up in that way.

I gave this book 2 stars because I appreciate the effort of the author in writing this book and I liked how quick I was able to read this, it didn’t made me feel that I had to stop reading it. But still….

giphy.gif

img_9310

1469579540159

One thought on “Grit by Gillian French

  1. Haha I’m glad I didn’t request for this one. I even saved the cover of this on my laptop the moment I first saw this. I was also curious about this. Now, after reading your review IDK anymore. It’s sad it didn’t really went well for you. Thanks for sharing this, Ate Nicka! Hoping your next read will be better. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

