Book Review

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

25014114

Title: History Is All You Left Me

Author: Adam Silvera

Genre: YA, Contemporary, LGBTQ
Published January 17th 2017 by Soho Teen

Rating: 4.8/5

img_9310

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

img_9310

img_3373

First of all I want to thank Penguin Random House International for sending copies of History Is All You Left Me and approving my invite to host a blog tour! And to my blogger friends who was part of the tour, thank you!

Let’s put it this way I JUST LOVE IT!

I think love is an understatement, but to be honest Adam Silvera amazed with his writing style. It’s refreshing yet it tugs your heart and it will make you cry buckets of tears. It’s not my very first book by him although I didn’t finish reading More Happy Than Not, my main reason is that I just lost track of time and I forgot that I was reading it. I’m kinda hating myself for not finishing it though, because I love History Is All You Left Me so much… okay More Happy Than Not is on the top of my priority list!

I want to point out how diverse this book was. LGBT, OCD, DEPRESSION ETC.!!!! I am kinda proud of myself for reading diverse books lately, it has widened my knowledge about everything that I needed to know about certain issues us human beings face today. It’s actually my first gay couple characters and I have to admit I find Theo and Griffin so cuteee when they are together.

The alternative  POVs made the story more heart felt. The very first past chapters made me feel giddy and in love, seeing how Theo & Griffin’s story began and with the present setting, this broke my heart into pieces but in the best way possible. The emotions were too real I myself can also feel what the characters are going through especially Griffin and Jackson. The grieving and moving on stage was totally heart wrenching, Adam really made me cry like baby! I think my heart is still broken.

There are some points in the book where I had issues with, somewhere in the final part where certain twits/revelations felt like they were just thrown in to make the story more “Ohh wow really that happened!” but I felt it fell kind of flat and came out of nowhere. BUT I STILL ENJOYED READING EVERY BITS AND PIECES OF IT!!

“People are complicated puzzles, always trying to piece together a complete picture, but sometimes we get it wrong and sometimes we’re left unfinished. Sometimes that’s for the best. Some pieces can’t be forced into a puzzle, or at least they shouldn’t be, because they won’t make sense.”

History Is All You Left Me has shown me grief and love at the same time, how the characters handled losing someone they love and how they stood up for each other. It is indeed a tear-jerker but you’ll thank Adam because those tears were all worth it! History is somehow all we could hold on to when we feel lost in the future.


You can check out my fellow bloggers who were part of #HistoryPHBlogTour
  • JM @ The Book Freak Revelations
  • Inah @ The Bibliophile Confessions
  • Jasmine @ Jamine Pearl Reads
  • Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl
  • Josiah @ The Bookish Fanboy
  • Camelle @ Home of A Booklover
  • Miguel @ The Quirky Reader
     
img_9310
1469579540159
2 thoughts on “History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Leave a Reply

