Book Review

Someday With You and other stories by Ines Bautista-Yao

Title: Someday With You and other stories

Author: Ines Bautista-Yao

Genre: YA, Romance

Pages: 120

Published 2016 by Romance Class Books

Rating: 4.5/5




A compilation of short stories written by one of my favorite Filipino authors, Ms. Ines Bautista-Yao! Let me tell you that her books never fail to touch my heart.

 

When I knew about this book being published as a book I quickly ordered a copy and started reading it.

Short stories are very difficult to pull off specially if it’s composed of three different story lines but the author did her thing and managed to still push through the stories even if there are only a few pages to make the stories happen. I didn’t feel that there was something missing, it was satisfying enough that I think it will make everyone feel “kilig”. I just hope there’s going to be a full story for all of the titles that was part of this book. *waits*

Someday With You and other stories is stories about falling in love, letting go & holding back your feelings for certain reasons oh and heartbreaks, sad right? Not to worry because all of these stories will give you hope in having a happily ever after of your own.

A story about falling in love with a college friend but couldn’t confess to her because it might ruin their friendship. It’s about Patrick and Andrea, they were thick as thieves! But as things were started to fall into place, kind of? Andrea disappeared from the picture which broke Patrick’s heart. But of course destiny did it’s magic and somehow Patrick needs to face his once “lost” love and tell her how he truly feels for her. And her reason/s why she just left him hanging.

This one is my favorite story out of the three. I was binge watching Ghost Whisperer when I read this so I felt kind of happy when the whole premise was sort of like it. At first I didn’t get it why he couldn’t just walk up straight to her and tell her everything. He wanted to tell her and that’s when I realized everything *OOH* it hit me so hard. I think this story was written beautifully and I enjoyed every minute when I was reading this. I loved how Toby was able to help someone not only himself to move on or let go of the things that mattered most to them.


The title itself speaks a lot about the story. We have Andrew your typical torpe friend who you just want to nudge just so he can make his first move to the girl he likes but of course there’s a down side to it because he’s afraid she wouldn’t feel the same way towards him. Penny who was in a kind of love team with Raffy who was good looking and got almost all the attention of their girl fans. (The three of them were models) So to say, Patrick didn’t had the chance to really show how much he cares for Penny because people were shipping Penny and Raffy! IM STILL Team #Pendrew or whatever you call them hehe. This was the cute one out of the three stories!

All in all, it was a fun and light read perfect if you’re going on an afternoon break just sitting on your veranda having a nice cup of coffee/tea. More of these kind of stories please!

 

img_9310

1469579540159

3 thoughts on “Someday With You and other stories by Ines Bautista-Yao

Leave a Reply

