Book Review

Book Review: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

img_1656

 

 

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

img_9310

25893582.jpg

Title: Tell Me Three Things
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 329
Published April 5th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 5/5

img_9310

“I want to thank Penguin Random House International for sending a review copy of this book, this will not affect nor influence my review.”

img_1657

Let’s start with how much I adored this book. After being in a reading slump for who knows how long I just couldn’t choose what to read next but when I saw some of my friends read and raved about this I immediately read it and I have no regrets at all, this book is the perfect read to get you out of a reading slump. So if you’re currently in a slump you have to try reading this book! It’s so cute and fluffy but it also tackles very important issues about grief, family and relationships.

Perfect days are for people with small, realizable dreams. Or maybe for all of us, they just happen in retrospect, they’re only now perfect because they contain something irrevocably and irretrievably lost.

The phasing of the story wasn’t slow and boring at all! I was absolutely excited whenever the chapters are in the form of instant messaging(IM), very entertained by Jessie & S/N’s conversation. I loved how S/N became a part of Jessie’s life even though she hasn’t met him in person, the connection between them is just…

giphy.gif

I’ll tell you three things why I loved this book:

  1. S/N – Somebody/Nobody

SN: you know that piece of hair that always falls into your eyes-the not-quite-a-bang piece? I want to be able to tuck it behind your ear. I want to be able to do that. I want to meet you when I feel comfortable enough with you to do that.

IMing, I never read a lot of books that has instant messaging as a part of the story line. But I thought that having this element in this book made the whole story unique. I was really into the characters conversation. I mean come on! This excerpt made me feel “kilig” when I read it!

kilig – a Filipino term; a reaction often incited by infatuation.

    2. NO LOVE TRIANGLE!

So we don’t have a love triangle in this book!  YES FINALLY! I’m kinda happy with this, we get the chance to have options on who S/N is but the twists and turn of events made me so confused, first I was rooting for this guy, but in one situation we have this one and this one… but I’m happy who it turned out to be!

3. Lessons

So as I’ve said earlier that this is a cute and fluffy book it also tackled issues about grief, family and relationships. There were chapters that talked about these and you can really feel the emotion every character is conveying, you’ll understand their sentiments and you’ll learn a lot from them. This book is about giving your new life a try for new beginnings and never be afraid of being out there showing the world what you’re truly made of. 

On revealing S/N, man the last chapter was pretty intense. My heart was beating fast as I slowly read this chapter, “Who is S/N?” “Why are they all here” “My heart, be still” I loved how it ended, VERY CUTE and somehow romantic! Can I get myself my own Somebody/Nobody?

Tell Me Three Things made me happy in all the right ways. I absolutely recommend this to every reader!

1469579540159

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

  1. Lovely review, Nicka! I’ve seen this book everywhere and have heard a lot of people praise it, but never thought to pick it up. But, I like the idea of having instant messaging in books – I feel like more books should have this because that’s how we converse nowadays! – and lessons in the book too. This sounds like a wonderful book.
    Thanks for reviewing it, Nicka. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

