Book Review

Book Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

image

Title: The Sun Is Also A Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genre: Young Adult,  Contemporary
Pages: 384
Published November 1st 2016 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 4.8/5

img_9310

img_1656

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

img_9310

img_1657

“I want to thank the publisher, Penguin Random House and JM @ The Book Freak Revelations for sending a review copy of this book for the blog tour, this will not affect nor influence my review.”

13887008_1052723814764897_3959174169410429168_n.jpg

“Maybe part of falling in love with someone else is also falling in love with yourself.”

The story was beautiful like the constellation of stars you see at night. Phenomenal writing style, I liked how it has multiple perspectives both from Natasha and Daniel along side some minor characters I thought weren’t that important. Each character represents a different aspect of ones life that  adds more depth to the story. Did I mention that this story only happened in a day? It amazes me that the author made me feel like I’ve known the characters for a long time. It’s my first Nicola Yoon novel and I must say its a hit for me.

Natasha and Daniel are the total opposites, Natasha being the realistic one who was very determined to stop her family from going back to Jamaica, she only believes in the works of Science while Daniel, he’s my new book boyfriend!!! well he writes poetry, he’s more of a dreamer who believes in faith, destiny and most importantly he believes in true love. Oh they are both immigrants trying to stay in the US to continue the life they grew up with. Then one day, two strangers met in a very unlikely situation. I didn’t mind that it was insta love, the way the author has written their relationship was undeniably raw and cute. The two main characters didn’t compromise their feelings just to make the other person like them, they just stick to the things they wanted to do and in the end, as many of us know, if it’s meant to be, it will be.

I definitely recommend this book to everyone!

img_9310

1469579540159

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

