Book Review

Book Review: Broken Sky by L.A. Weatherly

25925784

Title: Broken Sky (The Broken Trilogy #!)
Author: L.A. Weatherly
Genre: YA,  Dystopia, Fantasy
Pages: 500
Published  March 1st 2016 by Usborne Publishing
Rating: 4/5

img_9310

img_1656

Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world.

Where war is illegal, where harmony rules.

And where your date of birth marks your destiny.

But nothing is perfect.

And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

From the bestselling author of the Angel trilogy comes Broken Sky – an exhilarating epic set in a daring and distorted echo of 1940s America and first in a new trilogy.

img_9310

img_1657

I finally found it! The very first dystopian book that I liked and enjoyed, believe me when I say this, I’ve been having a hard time enjoying books that are under the dystopia genre but I’m so glad that I gave this book a try. NO REGRETS!

The plot was new to me, learned a lot of things about aircraft and about being a pilot since the MC was a Peacefighter. Amity Vancour was such a badass female lead. I liked her point of view, she was always outgoing and when she found out that something was wrong in their “world”/political system, she didn’t had second thoughts, she was eager to help and save the people. But before that, enters Collis, her bestfriend who went away for almost 4 years, she didn’t had an idea why but as the story progresses every bits and pieces was slowly revealing itself. I have to say that I’m not into Collis, especially the last few chapters of the book, it kept me thinking and wondering why all of a sudden he wanted to be a Peacefighter and be with Amity once more, to be honest I wasn’t a fan of the romance but I’ll have to see if this was developed in the second book… I got my eyes on you boy!

Some of the characters, I’m dying to see more of them in the rest of the series. It feels like almost all of them has their own secret agendas that most likely will affect the whole plot of the story especially Kay OR Collis.

The writing style didn’t bore me at all but the first part of the book was a bit slow-paced but it didn’t stop me from finishing the book because I was totally hooked with the story not to mention the world building.Oh I almost forgot the astrology aspect that was included in the story, where star charts or system was a thing that can tell your destiny.

I recommend this to everyone who loves dystopia, will I be reading the second book? Hell yes! Can’t wait to continue on with the rest of the series so I can see if all my suspicions and theories are all right…

img_9310

1469579540159

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Broken Sky by L.A. Weatherly

Leave a Reply

