Book Review

Book Review: Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

30654381.jpg
Title: Girl In Pieces
Author: Kathleen Glasgow
Genre: YA, Mental Illness, Contemporary
Pages: 398
Published  August 30th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Rating: 5/5

img_9310

img_1656

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

   Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

  A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

img_9310

img_1657

“I want to thank the publisher, Penguin Random House Int’l for sending a review copy of this book, this will not affect nor influence my review.”

“Everyone has that moment I think, the moment when something so momentous happens that it rips your very being into small pieces. And then you have to stop. For a long time, you gather your pieces. And it takes such a very long time, not to fit them back together, but to assemble them in a new way, not necessarily a better way. More, a way you can live with until you know for certain that this piece should go there, and that one there.”

I am numb right now because of this book, I can’t feel anything. It was so devastatingly beautiful in it’s own way. It gave me a whole new perspective about people dealing with mental illness and life itself. Words can’t express how much impact this book gave to me, it sent shivers down to my spine, it showed me the light, it made me understand that there will always be hope for everyone out there.

The story is about Charlie Davis, the brave angelic Charlie! She wasn’t your typical main character living her life, she doesn’t have a home she can call her own. She lived in the streets with her friends that she met their. Life wasn’t too perfect for her in fact she was in pieces. She keeps on finding the missing pieces but then she realized that it shouldn’t be that way anymore. 

“I cut because I can’t deal. It’s as simple as that. The world becomes an ocean, the ocean washes over me, the sound of water is deafening, the water drowns my heart, my panic becomes as large as planets. I need release, I need to hurt myself more than the world can hurt me, and then I can comfort myself.”

I have to be honest, there were times that I thought that this book was too much for me but later on I realized that things are just that way sometimes, IT’S TOO MUCH! That sometimes it will make you feel like you’re going to explode any minute that it’s too much to handle. Kathleen Glasgow, I admire your bravery in writing this novel. I thank you because this novel wasn’t just full of fancy words but it was eye opening and it made a great impact on how WE shouldn’t ignore the fact that THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO ARE EXPERIENCING THESE THINGS! For those who are in the verge of losing hope, DON’T! Talk to a friend or family. Don’t be afraid to speak up, there will always be that someone who will understand what you’re going through.

GIRL IN PIECES  left me in pieces, it’s heartbreaking yet so perfect. It’s beauty was definitely angelic. It mirrors what life truly is…

I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!

1469579540159

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

  1. This sounds like an absolutely beautiful and intense book. I’ve been curious about it because of the cover (I’m such a cover person) but the content sounds amazing. (And for some reason made me think of phoebe)

    Like

Leave a Reply

