Book Review

Book Review: Now You See Me by Emma Haughton

20743080.jpg
Title: Now You See Me
Author: Emma Haughton
Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 334
Published May 1st 2014 by Usborne
Rating: 4.5/5

img_9310

img_1656

Three years ago, thirteen-year-old Danny Geller vanished without trace.

His family and friends are still hanging on to every last shred of hope. Not knowing if he’s alive or dead, their world is shrouded in shadows, secrets and suspicions.

This is the story of what happens when hope comes back to haunt you. When your desperation is used against you. When you search for the truth – but are too scared to accept the reality staring you in the face…

A mesmerizing psychological thriller with the most incredible twist you’ll read all year.

 

img_9310

I want to thank the publisher, Usborne Publishing for sending a copy of this book, this will not affect nor influence my review.

img_1657

I am lost for words, when I first saw the book cover and noticed that it was inspired by a true story that little voice in my head said, “Girl! You’ll love this book for sure!”, and I did. I might do a little bit of research later to see what story inspired the author to write this novel.

I thought it was a bit slow from the start like there was no lead or any happenings towards Danny’s disappearance but the story revealed more than just Danny’s disappearance, their family’s secret that was buried for so long. The family dynamics in this book is what I loved, for me, it made the story more realistic when it comes to families having real problems. It also dealt with Hannah’s grief towards her mother’s death, her character was indeed more than just a girl suffering from a loss. For a mystery novel it didn’t just showcase the complete elements of being a one, it was emotional as well which was new to me, it tackled deeper issues about the characters. 

Plot twists after plot twist, can I get a break from everything that is happening? Though at times you might think that throwing a bunch of plot twists at the same time can get confusing or annoying, think again! Emma Haughton did a great job and her writing style is mad, brilliant!

The part that made my heart break and complete again was the epilogue, in there I fully understood what was really the reason behind Danny’s disappearance. I found the answers and it was all worth it! But I wished for more, I think the story was left a little just a little bit open ended. Nevertheless, I LOVED THIS BOOK NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT!

Well of course you know the drill, I highly recommend this book for those who are mystery lovers like me, I’m sure you’ll love this, trust me! 😉

 

1469579540159

One thought on “Book Review: Now You See Me by Emma Haughton

Leave a Reply

