Book Review

Book Review: Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

28962906
Title: Stalking Jack The Ripper
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, YA
Pages: 320
Publication Date:  September 20th 2016 by Jimmy Patterson
Rating: 5/5

img_9310

Thank you to Jimmy Patterson Books, Little Brown and Company for sending an ARC, this will not affect or influence my review.

img_9593

“Roses have both petals and thorns, my dark flower. You needn’t believe something weak because it appears delicate. Show the world your bravery.”

WOW JUST WOW! I am in love with this book. This is my first ever historical fiction slash mystery novel that I have read and it blew me away! I can’t contain my feels, this book is just so perfect for me. I had to read this book at slow pace because I wanted to fully understand every detail that was in this book, I wanted to enjoy every scene and every cases that the characters are dealing with. The writing style is phenomenal, the setting of the story and every element in this book perfectly fits each other.

I used to watch documentaries about the infamous Jack The Ripper, you know me I’m into crime and investigation things. I know a few details about how he kills and what was his motives towards killing those women in the past though he wasn’t caught or arrested or even identified, there were a lot of theories and conspiracies surrounding this issue that until know we still don’t know the answers, but in this book there is finally an answer! HAHAHA. That plot twist, I didn’t even saw that one coming… 

Thomas opened his mouth before catching on to my teasing then laughed in a way that set my heart racing again. Perhaps he was the most dangerous thing I could encounter out here, and my brother hadn’t a clue. One fact was slowing taking shape: I was in jeopardy of admiring Mr. Cresswell against my better judgement.

Let’s talk about the characters in this novel. I seriously admire them all well except for Jack The Ripper but I have to tell you I did admire him before I discovered who he truly was.

img_0433
Photo by @PhantomRim

Audrey Rose Wadsworth is my heroine! She’s definitely a bad-ass character and really smart, I admire the way she stands up for herself, how brave and tomboyish she was. She doesn’t even want to go to tea parties and dress up with lace gowns. Young ladies in her era was supposed to be prim and proper but she’s the total opposite and I like her for that. Thomas Cresswell my new love! At first I thought his arrogance would make me hate him until the end but it made me fall in love with his character even more. I love how the author created flawed characters, it made the story more realistic and more meaningful. Each character has their own magic in making the story more exciting to read.

The other thing I loved about this book was the last chapter, the first few pages was so intense but the last few pages melted my heart. It was so good knowing that it isn’t all about Jack The Ripper himself but it’s also about family, I think it’s one of the most important element in this novel but you won’t realize it until your down to the last chapter.

Read this book once it comes out! I highly highly recommend this to all of my readers and to everyone who loves to read mystery novels! THIS IS GOING TO BE A SERIES! I’M SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW.

1469579540159

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

  1. It sounds like this book is super good! I am pretty certain it is on my TBR because I have an obsession with mystery/thrillers, and have always been intrigued by Jack the Ripper. I still can’t quite believe they never found out who he was.

    I love that you mentioned the characters are flawed because flawed characters give me LIFE. I really love them, because it always feels like I am reading about people, rather than characters. And I also love it when female characters defy historical customs 😀

    I hope you love the next book as much as this one! Lovely review ^.^

    Like

Leave a Reply

