Uncategorized

Book Review: In The Present Tense by Carrie Pack

img_9306

Title: In The Present Tense
Author: Carrie Pack
Genre: LGBTQ, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 336
Edition/Publication: Kindle – Interlude Press
Rating: 5/5

img_9310

img_9307

17 years old, Miles Lawson goes to sleep dreaming of a future with his boyfriend Adam but he suddenly wakes up as his 25-year self, married to Ana, an acquaintance from high school. He learned that he could time travel to the past, sometimes in the future but he still lives in the present time, he is consumed with finding a cure for his rare condition- and also finding his first love. Miles has been traveling frequently and he has been discovering more about his life, he then tries to put all the pieces together to figure out what is really happening to him and what had happened to him in the past but his actions made his wife skeptical about what he was truly experiencing. As he loses control, he must realize that sometimes fixing your past mistakes means changing your future. He must do all his best to make Adam believe him before it’s too late.

I had no idea on what this book was really about, I was originally attracted by the cover and I thought I had to request this, but then I read the description of it, right after that I was totally sold! I wasn’t really expecting a lot from this book because it’s my first time to read a book that has LGBTQ aspect in it and I must say that my experience while reading this book makes me want to read more out of the genre. It didn’t disappoint me at all.

As I was reading the first page, I fell in love with it already I didn’t expect that I’m going to enjoy reading this. It was a fast-paced read. I don’t really want to spoil everyone in this review so I’m just gonna say that, within Miles’ time travelling I learned that it wasn’t true, that the main character was really suffering from a mental-illness and that’s what fascinates me, the author brilliantly wrote this story with care and understanding towards the issue of mental-illness and I loved that about her. As for the main character’s sexual orientation, bi-sexual, you can see both sides of him that will make you fully understand his sexuality. I do appreciate Miles’ character especially towards the people around him.

There were seriously a lot of plot twists that I didn’t know was coming but it didn’t came to a point that the author was just trying to throw the revelations around just to catch the readers attention. This novel was simply remarkable. The only issue for me was the ending there were questions that I think were left answered and I was left there hanging, I hope there’s a sequel though. I didn’t regret reading this, I am happy that I gave this one a try.

If you like time-traveling that blows your mind with a little hint of romance, better grab this book and read it! 🙂

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

1467422395044

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: In The Present Tense by Carrie Pack

  1. Oh, this really sounds interesting ate! I thought it’s like the movie All About Time because of the time traveling. But… he’s just mentally ill? Ugh I want to know how and why things happened. I’ll add it to my tbr.

    And I agree, the cover is attractive. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually didn’t expect that the mc is suffering from mental-illness, I really enjoyed this and I hope you’ll like it also! 😉 Thank you for reading Karina ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

