Uncategorized

Book Review: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Penaflor

HEY THERE BOOKWORMS!

IT’S BEEN A LONGGGG TIME SINCE I LAST POSTED A BOOK REVIEW HERE, AND I WOULD LIKE TO APOLOGIZE BECAUSE LIFE HAS BEEN CRAZY THIS PAST FEW MONTHS, SCHOOL AND READING SLUMP (LOL) TO BE EXACT!

BUT BEFORE I START TO WRITE MY THOUGHTS ABOUT THIS BOOK, I WOULD LIKE TO THANK MY GOOD FRIEND JASMINE PEARL FOR CHOOSING ME AS ONE OF THE FEW BLOGGERS THAT GETS THE CHANCE TO REVIEW LYGIA PENAFLOR’S NOVEL.


 

book review (3)

cover

Book: Unscripted Joss Byrd

Author: Lygia Penaflor

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publication: August 23rd 2016 by Roaring Brook

Pages: 211

My Rating: 4.5/5

 

FOR THOSE WHO WOULD LIKE TO PRE-ORDER THIS BOOK (CLICK HERE)


synopsis

Hollywood critics agree. Joss Byrd is “fiercely emotional,” a young actress with “complete conviction,” and a “powerhouse.”

Joss Byrd is America’s most celebrated young actress, but on the set of her latest project, a gritty indie film called The Locals, Joss’s life is far from glamorous. While struggling with her mother’s expectations, a crush on her movie brother, and a secret that could end her career, Joss must pull off a performance worthy of a star. When her renowned, charismatic director demands more than she is ready to deliver, Joss must go off-script to stay true to herself.


my thoughts

As I was reading this book all I could think about was myself, yes myself. Well not as the main character but the whole setting of this story gave me nostalgia, as a kid I’ve always dreamed of being on stage acting/singing but enough about me, I just wanted to share a little bit about myself.

I’ve read quite a lot of books that has the same story line but I can definitely say that out of those this book was the best. The way the author wrote every scene was just pure perfection. I really enjoyed reading this since I was in a reading slump, I literally needed a fast-paced book and this book was indeed the best fit. I felt like I was in every scene that was in the script. I can’t believe that I was hooked with the story, I kept on reading and to be honest I read this book in one sitting, that was how great this book was.

Joss was the kind of girl that was behind the shadow of her “mom” and the people around her but as the story continues she learned a lot of things when it comes to the industry that she’s in. She was more than just a talent, she’s a girl that will do big things not because of fame but for herself. I also admired Damon’s character, I liked how he encourages Joss and how he believes in her, how he sees the best in her.

I wouldn’t end this review without mentioning Joss’ mom, I for once will tell all of you THAT I DON’T LIKE HER! She didn’t act like a mother to Joss she’s more like a manager, she keeps on pushing Joss to do this to do that. She acts as if it’s her own career was on the line, but nooo.

“The Locals”, was Joss’ latest film. It gave her a lot to remember, it gave her life lessons and it surely opened a lot of opportunities for her. She crawled out of her shell, she became who she wanted to be and I guess that’s what matters, right? 🙂

nicka (2)

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Penaflor

  1. This sounds like a great little book! (And thanks for the recommendation, hehehehe.)
    I haven’t read any contemporaries that looked at characters that were actors… so this sounds like something I should to expand my reading. c:

    Thanks for the review, Nicka!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AAAH! So happy you enjoyed this book. I saw it, read the blurb and was instantly smitten. I didn’t really get around to checking out reviews yet, so to hear that you liked it makes me extremely happy and even more giddy to get it someday 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

